Whispersync is cheaper, it seems

I recently bought “Ashes of Victory” by David Weber on Amazon for $6.76. The audiobook on Audible is $24.95, although clicking through to Audible from Amazon drops the price (inexplicably) to $21.95.

But there is no Whispersync for this title. I’m not sure if they haven’t gotten around to it, or if it’s not on the list to be synced.

This poses a serious problem for me. The book is 672 pages (according to Amazon; it is an e-book, after all), and the audiobook is 25.75 hours. I can read the book in about 11 hours, but I need my eyes to do it. I can listen to the audiobook without my eyes, but it takes more than twice as long. If I split my time 50/50 between formats, it’ll be 5.5+12.875=17.375 hours to complete it.

Maybe the math was unnecessary.

It would cost me an extra $21.95 to get the professional narration for this book. If it were a Whispersync title, I would get a deeper discount on the audiobook. Check out this example:

“The Way of Kings” by Brandon Sanderson is $11.48 for the Kindle edition. It’s $63.93 for the Audible narration ($47.95 through the Amazon link to Audible). If I buy the Kindle edition first, the Whispersync Audible narration is only $7.99 (an extra $40 off or so).

If I were exclusively buying audiobooks, I’d be buying a lot of extra Kindle editions to make the audiobooks cheaper, and I’d be primarily buying Whispersync-ready titles.

Admittedly, I’m not an Audible Member (i.e. I don’t have a membership plan for monthly credits), so I’m not saving the 30% they would normally give on all purchases (for “The Way of Kings” the price would only be $44.75), but that’s still waaay more than buying the Kindle edition first.

Wouldn’t it be nice if the discount applied even if the book wasn’t Whispersync-ready?

Leave a Reply

