NaPoWriMo – April 13 – “Wasting the Weekend”

My patience is onion skin –
Fragile and brittle. Small things,
Inconveniences, are
Disasters I can’t ignore. I
Can’t fix whatever is wrong
With me. Tiny sounds deafen.
Yesterday, cute; today, maddening.
I have time to do what I want to,
When the work is done, but
I can’t even start. I know I’m
Wasting weekend time in a
Happy-sad contradiction that I
Can’t explain. Self-talk isn’t helping
To change it. Responsibilities weigh
Heavy on me. I just want to be
Alone, and I can’t be yet.
And I don’t know if I’ll get there.

One thought on “NaPoWriMo – April 13 – “Wasting the Weekend”

Leave a Reply

