Sharing to learn

Classical guitar

Classical guitar

“In the era of connectivity, informal mentoring relationships are easily formed and those with expertise are eager to pass on what they know to novices. In a participatory culture, I am unable to learn from you if you are not sharing online. I will never be able to find you and leverage what you know.”
The Connected Educator, page 11

This makes me think of learning to play guitar. I’m an okay guitar player right now; I’ve been dabbling for several years. I don’t think I’m particularly skilled, but I’m not brand new to the instrument. Up until now I’ve been learning in semi-isolation – I read something or I watch video online and I practice on my own. I don’t play with other guitarists, I don’t share my own playing online. Up until a few minutes ago, I was thinking that my online sharing wouldn’t be useful, since there are many highly skilled players already sharing online. But I realize I know better. When a teacher new to blogging or Twitter shares what they learn online I engage in a dialogue with them, for them and for me. Similarly, I could share my fledgling guitar playing online and perhaps spark a conversation. This interaction might be helpful to a very new player, or it might be helpful for me (especially if a skilled player provides feedback).

So I think I’ll do that. I’ll post some video of me playing guitar, and I’ll invite comments and feedback. And I’ll hope for the useful kind of feedback, the sort that gives the conversation a place to go (instead of “You should try an easier instrument” I’d prefer something more like “Have you considered trying this technique?”).

Edit: Here is a link to my YouTube channel, which includes four videos of me playing guitar (so far).

Leave a Reply

