Professional vs. Personal – a week of Twitter stats

Chart showing @bgrasley's Tweets

I counted my Tweets for the past week, and categorized them according to two attributes:

  • Professional vs. Personal
  • Reply vs. Not a Reply

I figured conversations would skew things a lot, so that’s why I separated out replies. Also, I was at #ECOO13 a couple of weeks ago, so I didn’t reach back that far (likely more professional stuff then).

Here’s what I got:

Professional Tweets: 75 (28 of these were replies; 47 were not)
Personal Tweets: 35 (8 of these were replies; 27 were not)
Total Tweets: 110

This was surprising to me for a couple of reasons.

  1. I didn’t know I had that many personal tweets.
  2. Most of my “conversations” were professional.

It’s worth noting, though, that it was impossible to accurately categorize some of them. For example, are these personal or professional?

  • We’re About to Lose Net Neutrality — And the Internet as We Know It | Wired Opinion | http://t.co/lQd7wmOkvT (Nov 05, 2013)
  • Go to https://t.co/onlNoGYDXC to see whether your Adobe account information (including password!) has been compromised and published already (Nov 07, 2013)
  • NASA’s Most Stunning Pictures http://t.co/O44Ebg2gAK #awesome (Nov 09, 2013)

(I counted only the last one as personal.)

Also interesting to me was that 18 of my 35 personal tweets mentioned another user, and in 16 of those tweets I know the other user professionally. In other words, I’m not really using Twitter to engage with people outside my professional circle anyway. Also, nearly all of my tweets are awesome. :)

What do your stats look like?

[For anyone interested, I used AllMyTweets.net to grab my recent tweets, then I worked with them in Excel using a PivotTable]

Leave a Reply

