I Think I Should Blog

There are lots of great articles, blog posts, webpages, infographics, and more about why educators should blog. Into that pool of reflective, organized thinking I toss this post: rough, ragged, and unrefined. Enjoy.

At the SNB eSymposium this week I worked and talked a lot with principals and vice principals. We talked about e-Learning, Blended Learning, blogging, tweeting, and how to best support teachers and students in their explorations of learning-with-technology. And it was a great time, with great conversations.

Early in the day Tim Robinson, one of the co-chairs, asked the group of about 115 educators for a show of hands: “How many of you use Twitter?” From my vantage point I estimated about 30 hands in the air. Tim remarked that there were quite a few more raised hands than last year, and I agree. He didn’t ask how many blog, or how many share their own learning with their colleagues. I would be curious about the responses to those questions.

My blog isn’t a collection of exemplary thoughts or riveting writing. Sometimes I think it’s probably a little awkward and uncomfortable to parse. It’s possibly even a touch boring at times (skip those posts, please). But it’s where I try to sort out my thinking. I just posted another entry about using Twitter, and I expect some folks are sick of me treading that same patch of tired ground. But I can’t apologize, because I’m only partly writing those things for you. Mostly, I’m writing for me.

I get a lot from trying to organize my thoughts. I have to examine my conceptions and misconceptions, look at and for evidence, and articulate my perspectives. That stuff is hard to do.

The blog also gives people a chance to learn how I think about things, and to respond and converse. Occasionally I’ll get a comment that refines or even disagrees (these are the best, in truth).

Do you take notes when you read stuff? Do you go back to them? Are they digital, searchable? Does anyone else get to see them?

Does your staff know what you’re trying to learn about? Is it clear that you’re not the expert on all things? How about your students? Do they know that you also have to learn?

These are all good ways to use a blog, and I want to explore them more. Maybe I’ll take on a Post-A-Day challenge sometime, instead of blogging in spurts.

None of us have “arrived”, and we all know that none of us ever will. Share fearlessly, accept criticism and praise, and be willing to change your mind as you develop your understanding. I’ll try to do the same.

5 thoughts on “I Think I Should Blog

  1. This is an interesting title, as it can be easily both a statement or a question. Having started my own blog recently, I’m stuck thinking about this as a question more so personally.
    I am not a writer by any means having math and business as a background. Although I see so much value and opportunity for reasons to blog, I struggle just getting started with what I should even be writting about.
    Wait a minute, I think i have an idea for my next blog entry… :)
    Thanks B! Great post.

Leave a Reply

