Explaining my next few posts

I have no Internet connection tonight (Sunday), and so I can’t really do much work. I can’t answer emails, create courses, gather data, respond to blog posts, do research…. In short, I can read and I can write. I have a book I might dive into shortly, but in the meantime I’ve written a bunch of blog posts. I’m thinking about scheduling them for release over the next few days, rather than blasting them out all at the same time, to make it more palatable for everyone. I might also just post them all at once.

In any case, it’s a sharp reminder of how completely connected we are. I don’t even have a phone right now. Power and running water, yes; contact with the outside world, no. It’s a little bit anxiety-inducing. I’m okay, mostly because I know I could drive to the school in Hornepayne if I really needed to. But since I’m away from my family I really, really would prefer to be connected. If I was at home without access to the Internet I think it would bother me less.

I guess that’s it: I’m very alone right now. I don’t like that. I think about my wife not being able to contact me and I worry about how she’s feeling. I miss her, and I miss my kids. Several times since I got here I’ve been about to open a browser to casually check something, important or unimportant, but caught myself. I have the things in this tiny room, and that’s all.

It’s probably not a bad experience, overall; it’s likely worth taking a step back from all of the near-miraculous technology we have to gain some perspective periodically. It’s encouraged me to get all pensive and write a bunch of stuff.

Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Explaining my next few posts

Leave a Reply

