Introductory Computer Programming in Java – video playlist on YouTube

I’m teaching ICS3C/3U online right now, and I’ve been making videos for my students to learn from. I realize there are good resources online for this stuff already, but there are three reasons I’m making my own instead of curating other sources:

  1. The Java language has evolved, so some things are done differently now (e.g. String comparison)
  2. The development environment has had major updates (NetBeans)
  3. It’s nice to personalize things for my students so they can connect with me a little better

I’m trying to post my videos to YouTube as well as in the virtual Learning Environment. I don’t want to use just one or the other; YouTube is blocked in some school boards, and the vLE is harder to access from a mobile device. Crossposting seems like a good idea.

If you’re interested, here is the playlist I’ll add to this semester. I’ll warn you that they’re not “polished”, although that’s partly intentional: I don’t have time for a lot of re-takes, and I want students to see coding errors and their fixes too.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLfd-5Q3Fwq0WGwNp-Ef9OubhMxwM8bROj

One thought on “Introductory Computer Programming in Java – video playlist on YouTube

  1. Thanks for sharing your value able experience with us. It is such a fine effort regarding computer programming. As it contains a large amount of information for all the dedicated computer learners.It looks quite impressive.

Leave a Reply

