What would you do with a day to improve your teaching?

Andrew Campbell asked tonight on Twitter:

I answered a couple of times.

Then I had a related thought:

If I want to improve my teaching, I can work on something myself or I can learn from others (or both).

What would I want to learn?

A full day… 8 hours… no restrictions, no prescriptions, no requirements, no accountability, no strings… just work to improve my teaching….

It was harder than I expected, until I had the defining thought:

What do my students need me to be better at?

So instantly I landed on Assessment. That’s my area for improvement, and that’s what I would spend my day on.

The Plan

  • Before that day, decide on a specific focus (for me, probably assessment as learning, including peer assessment and self-reflection) and gather some short articles from trusted, external sources.
  • Start the day reading those articles, and writing a short, reflective blog post. The post is to share my learning and hopefully get some helpful feedback from my PLN.
  • Apply my prior knowledge and my new learning to a specific task that I’m planning for my class. If there is time, plan multiple learning opportunities using different strategies.
  • Share those tasks with my PLN and solicit more feedback.
  • Reflect, modify, reshare, etc.

Let’s be realistic – I ran out of time already, and I’ll be finishing at night.

This would be good PD

It would be wonderful to spend a day like this, although I don’t want to miss my class or my family, so it would be a really expensive day in that sense. It might be worth it, though.

What would you do?

Check out Andrew’s response (clever fella):

One thought on “What would you do with a day to improve your teaching?

  1. You have hit on some interesting points Brandon. As an educator for over 30 years I think your last paragraph says it all. We are passionate about what we do and when time is spent away from our students we feel they are being denied, just like our family. But that is who we are. We look at the overall impact and realize that sacrifice in the short run can lead to great results. Our path is not a profession, but a legacy to instill a love of learning to all those we encounter.

Leave a Reply

