You probably Googled this

I’ve had this blog since November of 2012, about three and a half years. WordPress.com very kindly offers me a bunch of interesting statistics, and today I noticed a trend in the “Referrer” area.

There are a bunch of referrers, but the top two are always “Twitter” and “Search Engine”, like this result from May 2015:

Referrer

The Trend

Here are the annual statistics since the blog started:

Year Search Engine Referrals Twitter Referrals
2012 12 53
2013 653 637
2014 5893 1281
2015 (to date) 4056 318

There’s about a 90% chance that you arrived here via search engine.

The Why

First, I don’t tweet out links to old stuff very often. If you followed a Twitter link to get here, it was probably new content. Old stuff is always available by search engine. I think think is the most important reason.

Second, I’m not as active this year as I have some other priorities. I’m not as well connected with the rest of the province. The blog is more intermittent.

Last, a lot of people are searching for my blog, not just “assessment in math” or some other topic. So the search engine referrals are both intentional and incidental visitors.

I find this interesting to think about, although I don’t imagine it’ll change how I do anything.

3 thoughts on “You probably Googled this

  1. Do you find that there is a seasonal variation in your hits? For example, does your readership decline in the summer because you are less active/teachers tend to be off? Does it pick up a little in the end of August/start of September as teachers start searching for lesson ideas? :D

  2. Yup, there is a seasonal variation. There is a dip in July and August, and then it slowly ramps up during the school year. At least, it has for a couple of years :)

Leave a Reply

