Ready for an M15-KTK-FRF-DTK Pauper Draft

I recently boughts playsets of every common from Theros forward. I found them on ebay, along with 100 basic land, with free shipping (yay!). My LGSs (LGSes? I dunno) don’t carry this sort of thing, so I couldn’t buy them here. 

The cards were packaged nicely in cellophane by set, one of each card in order by collector number: 

 

This meant I didn’t have to sort them at all. This was fine, and expected, but I wouldn’t have minded having to sort them myself; I like to organize stuff. 

My daughter and I opened one bundle from each of M15 Core, Khans of Tarkir, Fate Reforged, and Dragons of Tarkir. We were both excited to see the cards and organize everything. 

We separated the cards into six piles: one for each colour, then one more pile for the non-basic lands, colourless cards (like artifacts), and multicolour cards. We then shuffled each pile and made up little booster packs with two cards from each pile (12 cards per pack) and had a little draft. I drafted mostly Black-Red, with a splash of Blue, and Tori drafted Blue-White. This part was a lot of fun, more than I thought it would be. 

We played a game with our custom, drafted decks and then discussed how best to randomize cards into the packs to cut down on the predictability. We agreed to shuffle all of the cards together before splitting them into packs. This means the packs won’t be as uniform (exactly two of each colour), but it’ll hide what has been taken and it’ll make the process more interesting, we think. 

I made 21 packs of 14 and 5 packs of 15 (otherwise there would be 5 unused cards): 

 

So we’re ready to have a big drafting party. Lots of fun in our father-daughter geekery. :)

One thought on “Ready for an M15-KTK-FRF-DTK Pauper Draft

  1. Older boy at this house spent his first afternoon of post-Grade 8 grad freedom playing Magic with friends in the back room of the local comics shop. Shades of my high school social life. :)

Leave a Reply

