Semester change

<begin break from planning>

A new semester means new students! They’re great! They have a lot of names, though. I’ll do my best to be able to reliably distinguish them.

Finishing off a semester means that there are a ton of students I care a lot about that I will never get to teach again. That really struck me today, and it’s bittersweet for sure. I’ve poured a lot of myself into developing these young men and women, and it’s crazy-hard to watch them move on, even if most of them are still in the building with me. I already miss them a lot.

I’m teaching new courses! I get to try new stuff, which is pretty fun. And it’s also a ridiculous amount of work, particularly those courses I’ve never taught before.

I have my own classroom! That’s pretty sweet. I haven’t had that happen in a long time. I have to make it more inviting though. It’s a bit sterile for my taste. Nothing a Star Wars poster (or mural…hmmm…) can’t fix.

<end break from planning>

One thought on “Semester change

Leave a Reply

