Some advice I give my students

I teach high school. I say these things to almost every class. 

“Don’t trick yourself into thinking you understand something you don’t.”

“Write it down.”

“Be gentle with each other.”

“You won’t look back in ten years and wish you had been meaner in high school. No matter how nice you think you are now, when you’re older you’ll see it differently. So be kinder than you think you should be now.”

“Let people like what they like. If they’re not hurting anyone it’s fine. I don’t need you to like the music I listen to, but I do need you to let me like it.”

“Everything is fascinating if you’re curious.”

4 thoughts on “Some advice I give my students

    • That’s true… although I have a few of those too:

      “If all else fails, try a table of values.”

      “Draw a picture to represent the situation.”

      “If you’re just memorizing a procedure you’re not learning math. You need to learn to solve problems.”

      “Use the back of the book to check your answer, but not as a clue to arrive at the answer.”

Leave a Reply

