Developing an English-Arabic math glossary (MPM2D)

I’m working on this project so that ELL students will have a little bit easier time in my math classes (making the translation burden a little lighter).

I’ve just finished an Analytic Geometry unit in Grade 10 Academic Math, and I put together this glossary of terms using some online resources:

Analytic Geometry Terms – Chart

I gave the same resource to all students, not just ELL students. We filled in the chart with diagrams to help explain the terms visually.

For the next unit, though, I need some support. The online resources I have found are missing some terms that I’ll be using. I have an asterisk (*) beside the terms I’m less certain about. If you can help, please comment below with corrections and additions.

Quadratic Relations Terms

2 thoughts on “Developing an English-Arabic math glossary (MPM2D)

  1. Hello Brandon,

    I really liked the glossary of Math terms for MPM2D course and their translation into the Arabic language. I taught this course many times, and as you said, there are many new words and concepts to be learned by the students. I teach in an adult high school, and our school population has a large number of students with an Arabic background. I found your glossary a great tool to share with my students if I have your permission.

    I found your idea of students representing visually the terms, excellent. By doing this, even though students are not sure about the meaning of a term, visualizing the concept would help them clarify their understanding of the notion. We can use this idea for any chapter, including the “Quadratic Relations Terms”. Students can draw a parabola beside many terms in this, and mark the vertex, x-intercepts, y-intercept, axis of symmetry, and so on. They can also create examples where they remove the common factor to show understanding of finding the greatest common factor, and so on…I really enjoyed reading your blog. Thank you for sharing this wonderful resource.

    Sincerely,
    Nicole

    • Hi Nicole,

      I’m glad you found the glossary useful! Feel free to use it with your students, and please let me know if you discover any errors or have suggestions.

Leave a comment